Mental health blog

I think this blog may be standing in for a while as a way for me to monitor my own mental state. Which when I am stressed / overloaded / depressed, and thus not fully assimilating more than a fraction of my experiences, is difficult to do. So apologies to my readers if this is not your cup of tea.

Because today I feel like shit.

I mean seriously. The pressure at work is unrelenting. The social demands – probably laughably benign from a non-autistic perspective – are confusing and they are constant. Usually my job is well suited to quiet focus and isolation, but now is an exception. The merciless expectation, drilled into me through every interaction to perform, perform, PERFORM; at the same time as delivering all of a million things in none of the time. Keeping track of the million things when I can’t parse words and everything has to be checked six times. My colour-coded “to do” list is not up to this. I am exhausted by lunchtime; every lunchtime. I cried through two separate meetings today.

I can still just about cope outside of work. One long (alcoholic) drink and at least a quarter jar of Nutella down and I feel better. I mean, more relaxed. The thing is, I won’t get anything done tonight. There is ironing that can technically wait, but shouldn’t. There is music practice, which can’t wait, so won’t happen. There is an ever-increasing list of actually urgent things shuffling forward to Saturday, when I should be resting, or maybe putting some out-of-work time into workplace things. Things that at some point, on a day like today, I will have to do.

Some day, in a week, or two weeks from now, I will break down. I will curl up on my sofa and sob. I will have crossed the line from rationing non-essentials like ironing and music practice, into food, or sleep, or rest. There will be no time to take care of myself as I struggle to perform the basics, ever more slowly, in the waking hours available.

This year, I am afraid of that time. I fear it because of how it feels, for me. But I fear it also because I can’t hide. This year I can’t draw in and focus on my work, avoiding the pressure of interactions with such high expectations. This year I am expected to smile and learn; to be positive; to have energy throughout. And already, I can’t.

I am afraid of the exposure. I am afraid of the shame. I am afraid of negative consequences from not being able to hide. I am afraid of taking time off work or failing at other commitments. I am afraid of forgetting what it feels like to be OK. Again.

Leave a Reply

