Dipping my toes in the water…

Too much has been going on so I’ve been hiding away from the world for a while. It’s been difficult to keep up with reading blogs and news stories, let alone writing. I suspect many people find this, but when I’m struggling I need to save my emotional energy for my own problems. Reading about other people’s pain and how many things are wrong in this world, which I am helpless to resolve, just makes me want to cry.

I think I’m back now 🙂

I thought about putting together a post for this week, but then I looked through my reader pane and realised I really don’t need to! It’s incredible to see such a lot of amazing stuff all out at once. So it might seem like a cop-out, but today I’d really like just to share a few links to pieces that made me feel hopeful.

Firstly there’s Progress Not Perfection. Taking a refreshingly impatient view of the “grumbles” on social media, she’s running a series of posts on things that go well in mental health services. While there’s definitely a place for grumbles – it helps us all to be able to vent or just share our experiences with people who understand – these stories definitely perked me up. You can find the first post in the series here.

Then I read this post from AutiWomanDifferentBox. It’s a big commitment to seek out an adult diagnosis, and as far as I can tell everyone has a pretty unique experience of the whole process. Adult autism services are improving in the UK, but there are still huge gaps by region, and GPs seem to know very little about diagnosis and support. The National Autistic Society has lots of information. This was also a good post to remind me I should write about my experiences so far of seeking an NHS diagnosis…

Finally there are a couple of good posts at Michelle Sutton Writes about dealing with “challenging” behaviours in neurodiverse children. I’ve learned a lot from this blog, largely about self-acceptance. It’s not cushy or sentimental, but offers practical strategies about how to just get on with life when your needs, and those of your children, aren’t automatically met. Her piece here is a reminder that making “difficult” children feel safe is an absolute prerequisite to teaching “acceptable” behaviours in a safe and meaningful way. I love to read this because it reminds me that even when things are difficult I am not just a naughty child (yes, I know I’m in my late twenties…), and that as a first step, just focusing on meeting my own basic needs will make everything else start to flow more easily. (And also, if I were ever a parent, I would want to do it like this.)

And then there’s this. Which needs nothing more!

That’s all for tonight folks. Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

