Liebster Award!

liebster.png

Many thanks to AutiWomanDifferentBox for nominating me for my first Liebster Award! AutiWomanDifferentBox writes a frank and approachable blog about living and working with autism and the inevitable anxiety – a bit like me, but with a very different job and refreshing perspective. We’ve exchanged some comments that I enjoyed and learned from. Well worth a read.

So I have to admit, coming home last Friday evening and having this message in my inbox my initial feelings were mixed. Definitely a rush of “yay, somebody likes what I’ve written and thinks it’s worth sharing! Very happy and must thank this person!” But also just a hint of “oh God, somebody paid me a compliment – what do I do? And this is a new thing, and it’s a social thing, and there are probably rules, and oh my God what if I fuck this up?” Because I am not very good at new social things! So this is my excuse as to why it’s been a few days … or maybe a week 😮 … sorry about that.

Back on topic: the Liebster Award is all about sharing good blogs, which are still quite small and new, to help them increase their readership and following. The quoted limits vary depending on who you read; I’ve tried for blogs with fewer than 1000 followers. It works (roughly) as follows:

  1. Someone nominates you! If you choose to accept, thank them and link to their blog. Maybe give it a little review as well, if you’re so inclined 🙂
  2. Display the award on your blog (optional, but fun – I found a few nice images here)
  3. Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  4. Nominate 5-11 small bloggers who you think are deserving of the award
  5. Let those bloggers know you nominated them
  6. Give them 11 questions of your own

The 5-11 is a variation on what I was sent. AutiWomanDifferentBox specified 11, but I don’t read very many small blogs (yet), so would rather focus on the ones I already know and love.

So here we go!

Answers to questions

  1. Please sum up your blog in 10 words?

    I had a really long think about this – there are so many options! – but in the end I couldn’t come up with anything better than my blog tagline: “Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world”.

  2. What are your four favourite songs?

    This is very difficult to answer, as music is such a huge part of my life, and my “favourites” depend so much on my mood. But here are a few different mood favourites: “Sun in the Night” (Lighthouse Family), “Don’t Stop Me Now” (Queen), “Sleeping Sun” (Nightwish) and “Comfortably Numb” (Pink Floyd)

  3. What four things would you get rid of from the world? (try go for more trivial/fun things like beards, just as an example, not all saying world hunger we all want to get rid of that)

    Spiders; the “hold” music on company phone lines; television adverts; and Microsoft Windows!

  4. Would you prefer to have the ability to teleport or the ability to fly?

    Definitely teleport. For one thing, I’m afraid of heights. But mainly because I don’t like travelling – especially having to travel overnight. I’d visit a lot more places if I could teleport.

  5. What animal would you be?

    I’m not sure. I think maybe I’d be an owl. They come out at night, when it’s dark and quiet; and they can rotate their heads almost all the way around. That’s pretty cool.

  6. What possession (not person) do you cherish the most and why?

    I’d love to answer this in detail but it would completely give away my identity … but I can say it’s a soft toy animal. I’ve had him forever, and he keeps me safe when no one else can 🙂

  7. What scares you the most?

    Power that other people have over me.

  8. Which is better breakfast, lunch or dinner?

    Breakfast is absolutely the best! A really big breakfast washed down with delicious milky coffee means I’m going to spend a long day doing things I love. On cold dark winter mornings, a bowl of hot porridge wakes me and warms me and makes me feel human again. And the best bit is that because I get up relatively early, there are almost never any competing requirements – so a relaxed breakfast is one of the few utterly immutable fixed points in my daily routine. Dinner might involve more exciting food, but breakfast wins hands down.

  9. If you could be a fly-on-the-wall in any time period, anyplace, viewing anyone where, when, who, why would you be a fly-on-the-wall for that?

    There’s a book I really like called Two Sides of the Moon. It tells the story of the Space Race from the parallel perspectives of American astronaut David Scott, and Russian cosmonaut Alexei Leonov, who was the first man to walk in space. The American side of this story is all over the place, but it’s a rare thing to get a glimpse of the Russian side. Where I’d love to be a fly on the wall is inside the airlock on Voskhod 2, just before Leonov stepped outside the spacecraft, and watch him make that little piece of history.

  10. What would be your superhero power? Feel free to make up one doesn’t have to be traditional.

    I’d like to be able to read minds at will.

  11. If you made an autobiography what would you call it? It can’t be your blog site name.

    I can think of many good candidates, but all are recycled from poems or books. Building original things with these sorts of words is not my forte. I might try: “How it looks from here”.

  12. My nominees

    In the order in which I discovered them:

    New questions

    1. What is your favourite book or series?
    2. Which city in the world would you most like to visit, and why?
    3. What do you love most about having autism / Aspergers?
    4. Coffee or tea?
    5. Did you have a childhood hero or role model (real or fictional)? If so, who was it, and why?
    6. How does music make you feel? (If this is too broad a question, you could answer about your favourite song or piece, or one that has a particular emotional resonance.)
    7. What’s your favourite way of relaxing after a hard day?
    8. T-Rex or dragon?
    9. What is the most ridiculous contradiction, paradox, or crime against logic you have ever encountered? (Eg Windows clicking on “Start” to shut down…)
    10. Would you rather explore the deep ocean or outer space?
    11. How long would you survive the zombie apocalypse? Justify your answer!
3 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

